Snoop Dogg delays induction into Songwriters Hall of Fame for ‘personal reasons’
(Credit: Alamy)


Snoop Dogg delays induction into Songwriters Hall of Fame for 'personal reasons'

Snoop Dogg has decided to postpone his induction into the 2023 Songwriters Hall of Fame due to “personal reasons”

The ceremony is set to take place on June 15th, but Snoop will no longer be part of this year’s intake. Instead, the legendary rapper will be inducted into the class of 2024. Snoop is the second participant to pull out of this year’s ceremony, following Sade Adu also choosing to defer until next year.

Jeff Lynne, Gloria Estefan, Teddy Riley, Glen Ballard, and Liz Rose will be inducted at the ceremony. Meanwhile, Tim Rice will receive the Johnny Mercer Award, their highest honour.

Additionally, Post Malone will be given the Hal David Starlight Award, which is for “gifted songwriters who are at an apex in their careers and are making a significant impact in the music industry via their original songs.”

Others who will present or perform at the ceremony include Louis Bell, Jacob Dickey, Emilio Estefan, Sasha Estefan, Doug E. Fresh, Myles Frost, Heather Headley, Alan Menken, Valerie Simpson, Keith Sweat, and Joe Walsh.

It is set to be held at New York City’s Marriott Marquis Hotel on June 15th.