Killer Mike releases a track with André 3000, Future, and Eryn Allen Kane
(Credit: Jonathan Mannion)


Killer Mike releases a track with André 3000, Future, and Eryn Allen Kane

Killer Mike of the epic duo Run The Jewels has released a new single alongside Outkast’s André 3000, Atlanta rapper Future, and Detroit vocalist Eryn Allen Kane. Entitled ‘Scientists & Engineers,’ this latest track will be featured on Killer Mike’s upcoming album, Michael.

The highly anticipated project will be the emcee’s first solo LP since he released R.A.P. Music in 2012. This latest boy of work was first announced on Radio Milwaukee station HYFIN earlier this year, and the lyricist has since taken to Instagram to inform fans about the album. The Run The Jewels musician released a single alongside his partner EI-P earlier this year called ‘Don’t Let the Devil.’ Produced by the legendary Chicago producer No I.D., the track also featured Thankugoodsir.

Following a string of releases, including, ‘Run,’ ‘Talk’n That Shit!’ ‘Don’t Let the Devil,’ and ‘Motherless,’ ‘Scientists & Engineers’ is the album’s final single, which will be released on June 16th by the independent record label Loma Vista.

In an interview with SPIN magazine, the artist (real name Michael Render) unveiled, “Michael is a testimonial in church. It’s an audio-cinematic experience! I think this record is best-heard driving or sitting still with your eyes closed. You know, take a road trip, take an hour, drive to it and let it soak in and let the words hit you. Like, ‘Goddamn.'”

‘Scientists & Engineers’ was produced by James Blake and No I.D. and sees lyricists and vocalists deliver quality verses back to back. With André 3000 rapping lines such as, “A stamina stampede of happily happenings, dabblin’ into obliv’ / V on, neon, be on the ambience beyond as you promised that you would live,” the single is potent.

Many have highlighted how this latest single sees a mini-reunion of the Dungeon Family crew. The Atlanta-based alternative rap collective that birthed the likes of Killer Mike, André 3000 and Future. However, the inclusion of Detroit vocalist Eryn Allen Kane adds an easy-listening element to this latest release.

Michael is set to include verses from the likes of Jagged Edge, D4L rapper Fabo, Ty Dolla $ign, Curren$y, 2 Chainz, Mozzy, Blxst, Kaash Paige, and more. This project will undoubtedly be performed live in some capacity as, alongside EI-P, the musician has a two-month summer tour beginning in July.

You can listen to ‘Scientists & Engineers’ below.