Future and Metro Boomin to release two joint albums
(Credit: Frank Schwitchtenberg)


Future and Metro Boomin to release two joint albums

Georgia rapper Future has announced that he and St Louis producer Metro Boomin will release two joint albums later this year. The two pair have previously worked on Future’s 2017 hit single ‘Mask Off.’ Following its success, they have decided to team up for an entire project.

The two artists confirmed the collaborative LPS on social media and released a trailer featuring the voice of the late Mobb Deep emcee Prodigy. The trailer was uploaded on March 8th.

The movie-like trailer sees both musicians drive in luxury cars to a barren, desert-like wasteland. The footage suddenly cuts to the title Don’t Trust You. A set of dates then follow reading, “3/22/24” and “4/12/24”.

Akin to Kanye West and Ty Dolla $ign’s Vultures album series, We Don’t Trust You, will also be released in instalments. However, Future and Metro Boomin, so far, have only presented fans with two. 

In a statement released to music publications, the projects are described as “Two LPs’ worth of Metro’s sinister cinematic soundscapes and Future’s irresistible demon musicality,” It continues, “These projects are a culmination of rap’s most fruitful partnership.”

Metro Boomin has been on somewhat of a roll recently. In 2022, he released his chart-topping Heroes & Villains album. Furthermore, last year, he worked on the soundtrack for the latest Spider-Man film, Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse.

Future also released an album in 2022 that received four stars from the music publication NME. The project was praised for its lack of autotune, with one journalist writing, “At times, in the past, he has relied on his autotune to compensate for lacklustre lyricism, but Future is a megamind whose pioneering spirit is the very reason trap feels alive today.”