Every diss on Drake’s ‘Scary Hours 3’ tape
(Credit: Alamy)

Old School Archives

Every diss on Drake’s 'Scary Hours 3' tape

Canadian singer and rapper Drake recently released his eighth studio album, For All The Dogs, to an abysmal reception. The project featured guest verses from the likes of 21 Savage, J Cole, SZA and PartyNextDoor. However, these appearances weren’t enough to save Drake’s album from poor reviews. 

However, the emcee (real name Aubrey Graham) recently released an extended reissue featuring six additional tracks entitled For All the Dogs Scary Hours Edition, a follow-up to the EPs Scary Hours and Scary Hours 2, released in 2018 and 2021, respectively. 

On this latest release, Drake has decided to aim at several well-known figures, with several disses appearing throughout the project. When it was released, many industry figures were very vocal about For All The Dogs. Podcaster and rapper Joe Budden gave a particularly scathing review of the album and accused Drake of rapping for “children.”

Furthermore, in a review by The Ringer, journalist Charles Holmes wrote, “For All the Dogs, Drake’s 14th project in 14 years, sounds like a haggard gasp of impending, middle-aged exhaustion. To be clear, Drake being on the verge of 37 isn’t his problem. It’s his stature and the middling creative returns that happen when you operate at such a massive scale.”

As such, it is unsurprising that Graham has decided to respond to his critics and even reignite some previous feuds he had with other rappers. One of the tracks on the extended edition is entitled ‘Virginia Beach,’ the hometown of Pusha T, with whom he has had a problem for years. Although there is no direct rap aimed at Pusha on the track, it’s a pretty evident subliminal jab at the emcee.

However, one direct lyric Drake raps features on the song ‘Red Button’ where he addresses Kanye, who he has also had problems with since 2010. On the track, the Toronto native states, “Every time that Yeezy called a truce, he had my head inflated / Thinkin’ we gon’ finally peace it up and get to levitating.”

On the same track, Drake also talks about Taylor Swift. An artist who Kanye West has had an obsession with ever since he jumped on stage at the 2009 VMA’s during her acceptance speech. On ‘Red Button’ Graham insists Swift is the only artist on his level rapping, “Taylor Swift the only nigga that I ever rated / 

Only one could make me drop the album just a little later / Rest of y’all, I treat you like you never made it.”

Drake also made a mockery out of Joe Budden, who criticised his album last month. On the track ‘Stories About My Brother,’ Graham made fun of Budden’s former career as a rapper and his current attempt to enter podcasting, rapping, “Imagine us gettin’ our validation from an ex-musician searchin’ for recognition.”

Drake aimed at more than just Kanye and Budden on this album. Below, you can see a list of artists the ‘God’s Plan’ lyricist referenced on For All the Dogs Scary Hours Edition.

Every diss on Drake’s Scary Hours 3 tape:

  • Pusha T
  • Kanye West
  • Joe Budden
  • Tekashi 6ix9ne
  • Rihanna
  • The Weeknd
  • James Harden